Thank you all for a wonderful week!  For the third year in a row, Food Allergy Education Network was able to secure a proclamation from Governor Dannel P. Malloy declaring May 11-17, Food Allergy Awareness Week in the State of CT.  We were able to raise funds, educate the public, and provide resources to those who need it all in honor of FAAW!

On Monday morning, our President and Founder, Gina Mennett Lee was interviewed by Sarah Cody of Fox News CT.  They were able to discuss important topics such as: food in the classroom, stock epinephrine legislation and epinephrine auto-injector training.  She was also able to promote our 2nd Annual Dance-a-thon featuring, none other than, Kyle Dine!  To view the interview, click here

Throughout the week, important resources were available for downloading on our website including:  Morning Announcements, Tips for Coaches, and our “You could save a life…” poster. The Owenego

On Friday, we hosted our 2nd Annual Dance-a-thon and Silent Auction fundraiser at the beautiful Owenego Beach and Tennis Club in Branford, CT.

One of the best parts of this week, for us, is being able to honor those that care for our children all year long through our FAEN Hero Awards. This year we were thrilled to honor many school officials and employees for “demonstrating diligence in keeping children with food allergies safe,” and for “recognizing that children with food allergies are part of their community.” FAEN AWARDS-# school

Pictured above starting on the left:  Hamlet Hernandez, Ginger Dendas, and Michael Krause Our Award recipients were:  Superintendent of Branford Public Schools, Hamlet Hernandez, the Branford Board of Education Chairperson, Michael Krause, Third Grade Teacher, Julia Verrillo, Fourth Grade Teacher, Ginger Dendas,Lunch Aide, Cathy Care, BranfordSeven owner, Steve Mazzacane, Mommy Minute/FOx New CT/Hartford Courant Reporter, Sarah Cody, Ernest Gebers, and Dee’s One Smart Cookie.




We also encourage children to nominate their friends for the FAEN Friend Award.  This year, the recipients were Noah Huntley and Avery Karasinki.


We surprised food allergy rock star, Kyle “Michael Jackson” Dine, with our FAEN Hero Award for “his continued dedication to educating the public, empowering those with food allergies and raising awareness through the power of music.”  Thank you Kyle!!

Screen shot 2014-05-21 at 2.25.15 PM

Pictured here is FAEN Child Advocate Award recipient , Hayden Wrann, and his mom, Emily.

Lastly, for the second year in row, we have honored an exceptional child with the FAEN Child Advocate Award.  This award is given to those that demonstrate an ability to advocate or educate publicly.  This year, we were happy to honor HAYDEN Wrann for his exceptional work on “Hayden’s Food Allergy Video”.

Thank you all for a wonderful FAAW!   A special thank you to our FAAW Committee (Gina Mennett Lee, Erin Spaulding, Emily Oakes, Kari Panuccio and Robin Comey) and our event volunteers (Farhan Soomro, Shahida Soomro, and Gean Carlo Rubio). All year long, we will continue our mission to educate and raise awareness on behalf of those with food allergies.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.